Beat the Jargon



A way of judging how you have learned, at exams, practicals, 
multiple choice tests etc.



When you come to college to enrol on a particular course or courses.

Extended Project Qualification:

An optional qualification that can be studied in the final year of an ‘A’ Level / Extended Diploma programme to boost UCAS points.

Learning Resources Centre (LRC):

Another term for a library, a place where you can study and find information. You can borrow books, DVDs, journals and magazines relevant to your course and use college computers to work, access e-resources and undertake internet research.



Another term for English.


Another term for Maths.

Pass, Merit, Distinction:

The grades given to the units on BTEC qualifications. Distinction is the highest, followed by Merit, then Pass.

Portfolio of Work:

Evidence of what you have learned and achieved on your course. This could be written work, photographs, charts or reviews.

Practical Assessment:

A way of assessing the ‘hands on’ skills you have learned on your course. For example, you may be asked to run a coaching session, if you study a Sports course, for which you will be judged and given a score or mark.

Raising the Participation Age (RPA):

The age to which young people are required to stay in education or training is 18 years of age.

Unit or Module:

A course is normally made up of a number of specific units or modules that will focus on one subject area, all of which need to be completed in order to gain the qualification. For example, you may study Photography as part of an Art and Design course, or Marketing as part of a Business course.